Tags

, , , ,

Today’s “Author Talk” with David Saperstein… author of Red Devil: The Book of Satan & Green Devil: The Book of Belial…

David Saperstein, author

David Saperstein

What were you like in school?

Where I grew up, in the Bronx, my friends were mostly first generation Americans whose parents and extended families never had extensive education, much less college. So school was very important in my home. A privilege. My memories are of making friends and enjoying learning. Our teachers and principals did not put up with kids who were disruptive. I was fortunate to get an excellent, free public education right through college. I also remember that I skipped two years and so entered college at the age of sixteen. It was a little tough being younger than the rest of the students in my class. I was on the varsity High School Baseball and varsity La Crosse in college.

As a child what did you want to be when you grew up?

I didn’t give that much thought. At least that’s my recollection. My brother was a High School pitcher and wanted to play big league baseball. I went to the Bronx High School of Science, one of the special NY public schools. The concentration there was science and math. I remember that at some point I thought I’d be a chemical engineer or chemist.

I entered college on that track, but discovered the City College Film Institute and that changed my world.

More short conversations with David to follow…

You can buy David’s books now on amazon by clicking on the images below…

The Green Devil: The Book of Belial by David Saperstein       Red Devil: The Book of Satan by David Saperstein

 

