Tags

, , , ,

Today’s “Author Talk” with David Saperstein… author of Red Devil: The Book of Satan & Green Devil: The Book of Belial

David Saperstein, author

David Saperstein

Why do you write?

There is something about it that drives me – telling stories. Sharing thoughts. Proposing ideas. Entertaining an audience. Attempting to explore our humanity. Contemplating the future. I guess the short answer would be storyteller.

Where do your ideas come from?

An imponderable question with no simple or all-encompassing answer. An observation. A distraction. An outrageous event. A personal experience. An interesting person. An unacceptable situation. These and an awareness of who and what is around me; the joy and pain of others and my own. Ordinary people in extraordinary events.

How do you think you’ve evolved creatively?

Slowly. With writing, professional writing, I figured that first comes the craft. And because I told stories in so many different mediums, around a vast number of subjects, I have gathered a great deal of knowledge, techniques and experiences. Structurally and creatively, a novel is different from a screenplay is different from a libretto is different from a song is different from a documentary…ETC. And as a professional writer, for most of my life, I have written every day. So I guess I “evolve creatively” every day.

More short conversations with David coming up…

You can buy David’s books now on amazon by clicking on the images below…

The Green Devil: The Book of Belial by David Saperstein       Red Devil: The Book of Satan by David Saperstein

