Tags

, , ,

Today’s “Author Talk” with Daniel Barnhart… author of Messy Anne Meets the Monstrosity

MESSY ANNE

So Messy Anne doesn’t have a message?

D: Well, sure it does. Everything has a message because it’s a point of view from the author/illustrator/creator. But I’m not pushing it. I’m not trying to fool anyone or be subversive. I just want to let the character and the stories bring it out.

And what is that message, or “point of view”?

D: Being yourself. Being bold. Not following a fad or a fashion or a concept of who you should be. And also taking responsibility for your actions and choices.

Is that important to you?

D: Hugely.

Any particular reason?

D: Certainly. Firstly, I have a personal perspective that there’s an astonishing lack of accountability for choices in our society. Secondly, I don’t think you write or create without some impetus. In this case it was my daughter. I wanted to create something that she could identify with, enjoy and emulate as an attitude and approach to things. Not to become a rubber stamp of something else. So I created Messy Anne and hopefully show that’s it’s important to be yourself and follow your own drummer, so to speak.

CLICK HERE TO ORDER YOUR COPY OF DANIEL BARNHART & JOHN UHRICH’S MESSY ANNE MEETS THE MONSTROSITY

Messy Anne Meets the Monstrosity

